TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old April 8th, 2017, 10:02 AM
Daniel Widdis
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 2793: NINETY-KNOT Vote

I’ve collected a dozen definitions for NINETY-KNOT, one of which comes from a dictionary.



Please vote for two, by public reply to this message, in the next thirty-two hours: by 4pm PDT / 8pm EDT / 23:00 UTC on Sunday April 9.* That’s midnight BST and on Monday April 10 at 1am CEST, 10am AEST, and noon NZST.





1. a preliminary award to the Eagle Scout, given by the Boy Scouts of America, signifying significant progress toward that goal.



2. a high-quality Persian rug, based on the number of knots within a distance equal to the width of the weaver's fist.



3. An embroidery tool, used for stitching sequins on hard to reach areas



4. Speedboat rated at 100 miles per hour. [90 knots]



5. joc. a rum drink. See hurricane, 8.



6. a storm trysail.



7. Expensive or luxurious.



8. A plant, Polygonum aviculare. See knot-grass, 1.



9. a synchronized swimming routine involving a team of 8 swimmers.



10. Naval sl. an officer who wins accelerated promotion by favour or influence.



11. A brittle toffee with a chocolate coating, sold in lumps (orig. a brand name of confectionery supplied to the navy).



12. any one of the best knots from the three primary knot categories: Loop Knots (make a loop in the rope), Bends (rope to rope knots) and Hitches (rope to object knots).



--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.