TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old September 9th, 2020, 04:08 AM
Tim Lodge
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 3103 WOOFITS Defs- Vote Now!

You've all excelled yourselves with your defs for this round, both in
quantity and quality. Here we have 16 inventive defs of the word WOOFITS,
only one of which came from my dictionary. Please vote for your two
favourites by public reply to this message before the deadline, which is:

18:00 BST on Thursday 1oth September in London
19:00 CET in Amsterdam
17:00 GMT/UTC
1:00 PM EDT in New York
10:00 AM PDT in California
05:00 NZST on Friday in New Zealand

New players are welcome - just don't look up the word until after you've
voted.

-- Tim L

*** WOOFITS ***

1. nausea. [Obs.]

2. [Scot.] Freckles.

3. hiccups [NW Engl dialect]

4. something annoying or pointless.

5. a diurnal rodent of the Caucasus, now extinct.

6. an unwell feeling, esp. in the head; moody depression.

7. in cartoons, lines emanating from a dog's mouth to indicate barking,

8. the fabric lining sewed into caskets including the pillow sash and
valance.

9. the threads that run crosswise in a woven fabric at right angles to
the warp threads; weft.

10. random colour changes in the wool used for the weft in weaving ; adj
for the resulting cloth.

11. the name given by Lady Dilworth to her pet Pomeranian in Amanda
McKittrick Ros’ novel Delina Delaney.

12. hooks on the ankle of an ice skate that allow for precise tightening
of the laces to provide stability.

13. in computer hacking, the number of bits saved through "elegant
programming" ["TMRC Hackers Dictionary" 1964]

14. whimsical tools, such as a saw that uncuts trees and a drill that
fills holes, found in a children's book "The Very Strange Day" by Stuart
McLaughlin (1940).

15. in *singular* and *plural*. Frequently with *the*. A fit of
depression, *esp*. one caused by a hangover (chiefly *S. Afr*.). Often in *the
dreaded woofits*. Also, formerly: a type of dance.

16. bonuses applied to a salesperson's regular commission as an incentive
for enrolling the customer in a subscription-based service, such as an
antivirus, insurance, or replacement plan for consumer electronics.


--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/di...oglegroups.com.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.