TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old October 6th, 2017, 05:52 AM
Tim Lodge
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 2840 PUCKFOISTED Defs - Vote Now!

Here we have 13 carefully crafted defs, all bar one of which are the
product of your fevered imaginations. Please vote for your two favourites
by public reply to this message before the deadline of:

18:00 UTC/GMT on Saturday 7th October
19:00 BST
20:00 noon CET
2:00 PM EST
11:00 AM PST
04:00 AEDT on Sunday in Melbourne
06:00 NZDT on Sunday in New Zealand

-- Tim L

*** PUCKFOISTED ***

1. crazy or foolish.

2. unfinished or immature.

3. left at the altar; unlucky in love.

4. having an undeserved bad reputation.

5. inclined to drink; addicted to tippling.

6. _Eng. regional. Rare._ cheated by a demon, bewitched.

7. to be forced into an undesired position; originally
theatrical.

8. a botanic term for a plant with both opposite and alternate
leaves.

9. delayed action needed to solve a problem until the problem
was resolved by other means.

10. condemned for a scandal which later turns out to have been
perpetrated by someone else.

11. a sailor's term describing an order that is poorly thought out
and/or dangerous, said to avoid swearing in the presence of an officer.

12. _Law_ descriptive of evidence that is presented because the
legal team believes it will force or encourage the other side to make a
critical error.

13. hallucinations manifested by drunken behaviour caused by
inhaling the smoky vapour from the release of spores from a puffball. [from
_puckfist_ a West Country regional name for a puffball]

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.