TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old February 28th, 2018, 10:11 PM
Daniel Widdis
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 2875: CROOCHIE-PROOCHLES Vote

Thirteen players have accepted the challenge of defining CROOCHIE-PROOCHLES.. Coupled with the one I made up found in a dictionary, we have fourteen possibilities for you to choose from.



Please vote for two, by public reply to this message, before the deadline, which will be about 34 hours from now at 6am PST Friday, March 2.Â* That’s 9am EST, 2pm UTC/GMT, 3pm CET, and in the middle of the night Saturday at 1am AEDT and 3am NZDT.



1. [Yorks. dialect] goosebumps.



2. toys; trifling objects; baubles



3. A Welsh law regarding property boundaries.



4. [Romany] the crooning language used with babies



5. [Aus. Slang] satisfactory or pleasant, esp. of a situation



6. [Chiefly Scot.] a weighted walking stick that can also be used as a weapon or quarterstaff.



7. Naut. slang. Now hist. and rare. Blows given on the palm of the hand with a twisted handkerchief. Hence: a sailors' card game in which the loser of the game (or of a point) receives such blows.



8. Pie crust dough cut in wedges, sprinkled with cinnamon and crushed pecans and baked; also known as nutty horns or circus rolls.



9. [Scots] (dubious) ice cubes, especially when used with whisky.



10. A line of spikes set into masonry on top or a wall.



11. Discomfort from sitting in a cramped position



12. a state of nervous anticipation.



13. [Scot., now rare] blaeberries.



14. tiresome or tedious

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.