TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old August 5th, 2018, 12:43 PM
Tim Lodge
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 2912 MAGDALEON Defs - Vote Now!

My reminder produced a couple more defs, but, more importantly, a message
from Guerri telling me that she'd sent one and her name wasn't on my
list. I found it hiding in my Outlook Junk folder along with one from
another player, so we've ended up with 11 defs - one from my dictionary and
the rest from your fevered imaginations. Please vote for your two
favoutited by public reply to this message before the deadline of:

09:00 UTC on Tuesday 7th August which is:
10:00 BST for me,
11:00 CET
5:00 AM EDT
2:00 AM PST
19:00 AEST in Melbourne
21:00 NZST in New Zealand

-- Tim L

*** MAGDALEON ***

1. A brothel. [Obs.]

2. Slang for a courthouse stenographer.

3. The ore from which the aniline dye magdala red is made.

4. An old coin of Hungary, worth 2.5 gold korona or 5 forint.

5. Dried leaf used in ancient times to make perfumed ointments.

6. A cylindrical roll, esp. of a medicinal substance or plaster.

7. [Archaic] a hospitaller, especially a member of _The Order of St.
John_

8. A piece of broad, heavy, roughly dressed lumber with one face finished
flat.

9. A rectangular cutout on a plinth for placement of a nameplate or
expository plaque.

10. An 18th century woman’s hairstyle in which the hair is arranged over
horsehair pads or wire cages, powdered with starch and adorned with
feathers, ribbons and jewels.

11. A cultivar of mentha arvensis – combining qualities of wild mint,
Japanese peppermint, and field mint. Chiefly used for aromatherapy but
sometimes brewed in herbal teas.

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.