TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old May 4th, 2020, 04:05 AM
Shani Naylor
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 3070 - time to vote!

Hi all

We have before us 11 carefully crafted definitions for our word -
AY-AY-AYA. Please vote for two before the deadline.

1. The yell of a runner in training.

2. [Maori] The muttonbird or sooty shearwater.

3. [Madagascar] The female long-fingered lemur.

4. A joyous, or sometimes sarcastic, exclamation.

5. A phrase used in a chant to express lamentation.

6. A flightless bird native to New Zealand, slightly larger than
a kiwi, extinct since c. 1450.

7. A game of chance played with three six-sided dice. The game
is stereotypically played in urban settings such as alleys or stoops.

8. One of the largest gem-quality rough diamonds ever found,
weighing 2,334 carats and discovered at Boevets, South Africa on May 12,
1986 and named after a local spring.

9. A rare tropical bird of the order psittaciformes, found in
low-lying jungle areas in South-Central Asia, and distinguished by its
unusual yellow-green plumage and red crest, as well as its distinctive cry.

10. The web of a bird spider native to the South American rain
forest, from the sound one makes on walking into one unexpectedly. Also,
the spider itself, considered a delicacy among some native tribes.

11. An artistic movement originating in Italy in the 1960s,
incorporating elements of conceptual, minimalist, and performance art and
characterized by the use of ostensibly worthless everyday materials, often
in temporary installations; the art associated with this movement.

The movement is known for an emphasis on creating works that would not be
commercially viable, but many of these works are now sold and collected.



The deadline is 10am Wednesday, 6 May 2020 my time (NZDT) or:



Los Angeles, USA Tues, 5 May 2020 at 3pm
PDT

New York, USA Tues, 5 May 2020 at 6pm
EDT

London, United Kingdom Tues, 5 May 2020 at 11pm BST

Amsterdam, Netherlands Wed, 6 May 2020 at midnight CEST



(please check these times and adjust accordingly)

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/di...mail.gmail.com.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.