TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old July 25th, 2019, 08:28 AM
Tim Lodge
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 3001 GRAINEUR Defs - Vote Now!

It's 36°C/97°F here and we haven't got aircon - not exactly conducive to
working at a computer! Anyway we have 14 imaginative defs of the word
GRAINEUR, only one of which came from my dictionary. Please vote for your
two favourites by public reply to this message, before the deadline of:


11:00 on Saturday 27th July, which is

10:00 GMT

12:00 CET

6:00 AM EDT

3:00 AM PDT

22:00 NZST in New Zealand


New players are welcome- just don't look after the word until after you've
voted:


-- Tim L


*** GRAINEUR ***


1. a safe cracker.

2. a meat grinder.

3. a ceremonial trumpeter.

4. a producer of silkworm eggs.

5. a peddler of devotional literature.

6. an engraver who specializes in designing stock certificates.

7. (Obs.) a worker in a flour mill who ensured the wheat was free from
foreign matter.

8. a person skilled in painting false grains on plaster, in imitation of
expensive woods.

9. a measure of the amount a photographic negative can be enlarged before
blurring results.

10. the person in charge of drying, grinding and mashing malt to make wort
for Scotch whisky.

11. an instrument used by ploughmen for keeping their horses a little
apart, that they may see forward between them to make a straight furrow.

12. a combination of live bacteria and yeasts that exist in a symbiotic
matrix on a surface of a complex polysaccharide with a casein core from
which kefir milk is produced.

13. one of a class of poet-musicians flourishing in northern France in the
1100s and 1200s, who composed chiefly narrative works, such as the chansons
de geste, in langue d'oïl.

14. originally used to describe the mottled appearance of the lunar
surface seen under sufficient resolution capable of determining small
meteorite strike-pits; asteroid surfaces also have the same appearance and
the term has been expanded to cover these.

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/di...oglegroups.com.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.