TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old July 30th, 2020, 04:30 AM
Tim Lodge
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 3092 PYKESTOLE Defs - Vote Now!

Here we have a fine selection of defs - 13 in all - of the word PYKESTOLE,
only one of which came from my dictionary. Please vote for your two
favourites by public reply to this message, before the deadline of:

21:00 BST on Friday 31st July, which is
22:00 CET
20:00 GMT/UTC
4:00 PM EDT
1:00 PM PDT
08:00 NZST on Saturday in New Zealand

New players are welcome, just don't look up the word until after you've
voted.

*** PYKESTOLE ***

1. [Sc.] a closure for a sporran.

2. to flip or cause to flip end over end.

3. (Steam Engine) the lap of a slide valve.

4. a gold coin equal to two escudos, formerly used in Spain.

5. a component of plate armor to protect the knee or the front of the
thighs.

6. an especially ornate scarf worn by a bishop during his or her
consecration.

7. [Obs.] a game or sport formerly played at Ripon, Yorkshire, on Easter
Monday.

8. an irregular heartbeat where the two ventricles are slightly out of
synchronization.

9. a large covering, usually having handles and made of leather, used to
safely transport quantities of polearms.

10. transl. of Vulgate _stolam primam_ (Greek στολὴν τὴν πρώτην), ‘the
best robe’ in the parable of the Prodigal Son.

11. a reusable eel bait consisting of a small ball of live earthworms
packed in linen and tied with a sheep tendon. (Swed.)

12. a lavishly ornamented garment worn during Medieval and Early Modern
times by the leader of an English band of mummers, or travelling players.

13. [Obs] a piece of furniture in an armoury; a long legged stool with
radial spokes used for sharpening pikes but also turned upside down to
store sharpened pikes, (similar use to a modern umbrella stand).


--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/di...oglegroups.com.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.