TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old June 29th, 2022, 04:38 AM
Tim Lodge
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 3262 ULPIC defs - Vote Now!

I've got a rather miserable total of only 8 defs for ULPIC. Because of my
schedule over the next few days, I'm going ahead with voting anyway, so
your chances of hitting the real def are somewhat better than usual. Please
vote for your two favourites by public reply to this message before the
deadline, which is:

20:00 UTC/GMT on Thursday 30th June
21:00 BST in London
22:00 CET in France and the Netherlands
4:00 PM EDT in New York
1:00 PM PDT in California
08:00 NZST on Friday in New Zealand

New players are welcome - just don't look up the word until after you've
voted.

-- Tim L


*** ULPIC ***

1. a kind of leek.

2. aioli: garlic cream paste.

3. the hard bony pincers of biting insects and crustaceans.

4. of or pertaining to the mesopalagic ("twilight") zone of the ocean.

5. an imaginary large four-legged beast with legs on one side longer than
on the other for walking on hillsides

6. of, relating to, or being an ancient Egyptian vase, urn, or jar used
to hold the viscera of an embalmed body.

7. of or relating to the ulpus, a toothlike projection from the second
vertebra on which the first vertebra pivots.

8. a tax levied by the state on mistresses kept by clergymen; imposed in
England and France from 1042 as part of a drive towards clerical celibacy.

9. an Icelandic dish comprising the meat of a Greenland shark that has
been allowed to ferment (traditionally by burial in sand for up to twelve
weeks) then hung to dry for several months.

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/di...oglegroups.com.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.