TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old July 11th, 2021, 05:19 PM
Shani Naylor
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 3181 CONFIDENTE - time to vote!

The extra time elicited a couple more defs - so here we have it, 12
meanings for our word CONFIDENTE. Please vote for 2 before our deadline:



1. A con-man.

2. A confessor [Ital.]

3. A chest of drawers.

4. One who confesses; a penitent.

5. A third-party guarantor in a banking transaction.

6. [Fr.] A person who writes letters for people who are illiterate.

7. A knight who has sworn an oath to be faithful to his brothers in a
chivalric order.


8. A person with superior, usually specialized knowledge or highly
refined taste; a connoisseur.

9. A watchword used by the Spanish Inquisition; believed to be a
short version of Confidente in Deum (Mediaeval Latin), trusting in God.

10. A sofa or settee, especially of the 18th century, having a triangular
seat at each end divided from the greater part of the seat by an armrest.

11. [Obs.] A sofa where the seating is 's'-shaped so that a lady and a
gentleman can sit one on each side and talk to each other with an arm
between them.

12. (Computers) A set of symbols used to represent blocks of binary data,
in which the original block of data is represented by a larger block of
data which includes additional bits arranged in such a way that the
original data may be read even if one or more of the bits of the encoded
data is changed, as in a noisy communication channel. Various codes are
available which can correct different numbers or patterns of errors in the
transmitted data.

The deadline is 10.30pm Tuesday 13 July my time (NZDT) or:



Los Angeles, USA Tuesday 13 July at 3.30am

New York, USA Tuesday 13 July at 6.30am

London, United Kingdom Tuesday 13 July at 11.30am

Paris, France Tuesday 13 July at 12.30pm



(please check these times and adjust accordingly)



New players always welcome!



Shani

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/di...mail.gmail.com.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.