TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old April 10th, 2018, 04:25 AM
Tim B
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 2885 - JINKER - Call for votes

Here we go, then, without the aid of a safety net!

Please vote for TWO definitions, as a public forum message (in reply to this one),
before the deadline, which is 9 am BST on Thursday 12th April. That will be 0800 UTC,
or 4 am in New York, or 1 am in LA, or (probably) 8 pm in Auckland.

New players are welcome, even if you didn't enter a definition this round.
Don't look in a dictionary. Full rules, if you're curious, can be seen at www.dixonary.net.

1. a toady.
2. a mistake; a blunder.
3. a maker of chain mail.
4. a deceiver; a trickster; a cheat.
5. a large boulder or other obstruction.
6. a wheeled conveyance for moving heavy logs.
7. a small coin of old England, equal to 2 farthings.
8. the stony residue from burned coal or from a furnace.
9. construction slang for a port-a-potty; aka Blue Room.
10. a bump on the head from a blow, or the blow that causes such a bump.
11. the Western Damselfly: an insect of the suborder Zygoptera in the order Odonata.
12. steel scrap or direct reduced iron added to the furnace in some steelmaking processes.
13. Rolled-up pieces of dough, baked, then covered with cinnamon and sugar or chocolate and
served warm.
14. a heavy rifle with a very long barrel which was often rested upon another person's
shoulder to aim and fire [Obs. but common in India and China throughout 19th cent]

Best wishes,
Tim Bourne.

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.