TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  View Parent  #12  
Old January 19th, 2018, 08:27 AM
Dave Cunningham
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 2865 SIMORG definitions

6 and 10 this time out.


Dave

On Thursday, January 18, 2018 at 2:09:41 AM UTC-5, Ryan McGill wrote:

> Okay everybody, here are your fake definitions, carefully hiding something
> real relating to the word SIMORG. Vote for any two you like for any reason
> you choose, including that you think it might be the dictionary definition.
> Voting is done by public reply to this post.
>
> Definitions here are arranged in order of character length and then
> alphabetically, as we had two pairs of definitions exactly the same length.
>
> You do not need to have supplied a definition to vote.
>
>
> 1) a snub or rebuff.
>
> 2) rigid or unyielding.
>
> 3) a rather large newt of Papua New Guinea.
>
> 4) a scentless mayweed or scentless chamomile.
>
> 5) a mythical beast, somewhat similar to a unicorn.
>
> 6) a mythical beast with the head of a ram and body of a human.
>
> 7) a ridge formed by wind erosion parallel to prevailing winds.
>
> 8) a robotic monkey, built as a demonstration of Japanese technology.
>
> 9) a membranous fold that supports an organ and keeps it in position.
>
> 10) (also simurgh) a huge ancient bird of Persian legend, credited with
> possessing great wisdom.
>
> 11) a widely used 1960s-era computer program that implemented Forrester's
> System Dynamics concepts (from SIMulation in ORGanizations).
>
> 12) (also symorg) An organisation set up to support a commercial or public
> service organisation, often by providing volunteer assistance.
>
> Deadline for voting will be as follows:
> Friday, 19 January, 1700 PST (5pm)
> Friday, 19 January, 2000 EST (8pm)
> Saturday, 20 January, 0000 GMT (midnight)
> Saturday, 20 January, 0100 CET (1am)
> Saturday, 20 January, 1100 EAST (11am)
>
> I think I may have flubbed the Australian time zone abbreviation, as if I
> leave this window, it will undo all my typing.
>
> Feel free to correct me if I got any of this wrong. Good luck, and happy
> voting!
>
>


--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.