TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old November 5th, 2018, 10:00 AM
Tony Abell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 2936 - FLOB Defs Up

Find below 13 definitions of flob, one of which comes from a dictionary. The
remainder come from the fertile imaginations of the players.

Vote for two by way of a public response to this message before the deadline.
You may vote even if you did not submit a definition, but you may NOT vote if you
are disqualified (see the rules at http://www.dixonary.net). The voting deadline
shall be:

Wednesday, 06:00am EST (New York) 07-Nov-2018
Wednesday, 03:00am PST (San Francisco) 07-Nov-2018
Wednesday, 11:00am GMT (London) 07-Nov-2018
Wednesday, 12:00pm CET (Brussels) 07-Nov-2018
Wednesday, 10:00pm AEDT (Melbourne) 07-Nov-2018
Wednesday 2018-11-07 1100Z


-------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. (Sl.) Tobacco.

2. A thick lump or mass.

3. [SW Eng. Regional] A flowerpot.

4. Any of several reddish-brown water insoluble pigments derived from tannin
in barks.

5. The collection of water, oil, antifreeze and other toxic substances that
collect in the lowest internal part of a ship's hull.

6. Derogatory airline crew term for a passenger who quotes airline rules and
policies, originally an acronym for Flight Lawyer On Board.

7. [Chiefly Scot.] A clumsy, awkward or foolish person.

8. [also FLUB] A mistake, gaffe, or other minor snafu.

9. An imposition; a trick. [Obs.]

10. Broad sash worn with a kimono.

11. To be clumsy or aimless in moving.

12. In early computing, the time taken to change every byte in core memory. In
some cases, this was up to a full second on early mainframes.

13. A wartime dessert, also known as Floating Islands, consisting of chunks of
whipped-up egg white on a sea of custard.


--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.