TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old November 1st, 2018, 03:32 PM
Tim Lodge
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 2935 MAESHIE Defs - Vote Now!

Apologies if I confused anyone by mis-typing the word in the subject line
of the reminder - the word is definitely MAESHIE. We have 13 creative defs
of MAESHIE, only one of which came from my Dictionary. Please vote for
your two favourites by public reply to this message before the deadline of:

10:00 UTC on Saturday 3rd November (by which time I will be a year
older than I am today!)
11:00 CET
6:00 AM EDT
3:00 AM PDT
21:00 AEDT in Melbourne
23:00 NZDT in New Zealand

New players are welcome - just don't look up the word until after you've
voted.

-- Tim L

** MAESHIE ***

1. [Scot.] shy.

2. a vengeful person.

3. _Chiefly Southern US_ a kitten.

4. [Scot.] an enfeebled old woman.

5. foot rot, a disease affecting sheep.

6. a blue hat worn by female leprechauns.

7. a flaw in a character leading to his downfall.

8. an obsolete unit of measure for dry volume, used primarily for coal
and equal to about 10 bushels.

9. _S. Afr._ a person who works illegally in abandoned mine-shafts in
order to retrieve metals, minerals, etc.

10. the orange-red clay that adorns the female members of the Himba tribe
who live in northwestern Namibia and Angola.

11. [also MASHIE] a early golf club, similar in use to a present-day
5-iron, but made of wood like all clubs of the time.

12. [Louisiana Creole] an affectionate diminutive nickname akin to
"darling," used solely when directly addressing a younger member of one's
own family.

13. a barrel-shaped wide-meshed basket or net made from straw, heather, or
a similar material, usually hung on a packsaddle and used for carrying
heavy or bulky loads.

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.