TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old November 8th, 2020, 10:43 AM
Tony Abell
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 3118 - FOTCH Defs Up

Find below 13 definitions of fotch, one of which comes from a dictionary. The
remainder come from the fertile imaginations of the players.

Vote for two by way of a public response to this message before the deadline.
You may vote even if you did not submit a definition, but you may NOT vote if you
are disqualified (see the rules at http://www.dixonary.net). The voting deadline
shall be:

Tuesday, 07:00am EST (New York) 10-Nov-2020
Tuesday, 04:00am PST (San Francisco) 10-Nov-2020
Tuesday, 12:00pm GMT (London) 10-Nov-2020
Tuesday, 01:00pm CET (Brussels) 10-Nov-2020
Tuesday, 11:00pm AEDT (Melbourne) 10-Nov-2020
Tuesday 2020-11-10 1200Z


-------------------------------------------------------------------------

1. A smugly virtuous person.

2. Fetch

3. A hole in the inside of a wooden wheel rim, into which the end of a spoke
is inserted.

4. To move anything a little way from its former place; to lift and lay down
again; to touch a thing frequently.

5. The metal coupling holding together the gears in a clock or other large
clockwork device.

6. Malintent.

7. A candle made of the pith of certain rushes, peeled except on one side, and
dipped in grease.

8. The burrow of a badger, usu. characterized by a large mound of dirt around
the entrance.

9. [Devon dial.] a hay rake.

10. [Arch. Obs.] a unit of light - the product of brightness and duration (Used
by early photographers; 1 fotch is 1 lumen shining for 1 second).

11. A compost heap [OE].

12. A pivoted piece on a helmet between a visor and a beaver.

13. To fidget.


--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
To view this discussion on the web visit https://groups.google.com/d/msgid/di...nybodyhome.com.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.