TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old August 11th, 2017, 10:25 AM
Tim Lodge
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 2825 SYCHT Defs - Vote Now!

Well, we've managed to keep the grandchildren occupied for a few hours with
lunch in Yo Sushi followed by shelf-gazing in the toy department of our
local department store. When I got back my computer announced that it was
doing the Windows 10 Creator's Update, which led to a further delay.
Anyway, here are 13 defs of the word SYCHT, only one of which came from my
dictionary. Please vote for your two favourites by public reply to this
message before the deadline of:

09:00 UTC/GMT on Sunday 13th August
10:00 BST
11:00 noon CET
5:00 AM EST
2:00 AM PST
19:00 AEST in Melbourne
21:00 NZDT in New Zealand

-- Tim L

*** SYCHT ***

1. Named or called.

2. fork-tailed gull.

3. The larva of the tent caterpillar.

4. sight, especially that of a fortune teller.

5. the catch mechanism on a child-safe bottle.

6. A] Bio-luminescent light. B] St. Elmo's light.

7. _Sc. Obs._ The front parts of a gown, coat, etc.

8. a flash flood in a wadi or other usually dry stream bed.

9. The optical distortion of the sun or moon near the horizon.

10. A large, fat variety of the namaycush found in Lake Superior

11. A Polish unit of weight, equal to approx. 14 oz; the Polish
pound.

12. sight [AS/ME in Ælfric of Eynsham "Sermones Catholici" -
955-1010 - (a gloss on 2 Corinthians 2:5 "_*for we walke by faythe, not by
sycht*_")]

13. Amish courtship practice in which a couple sits in an open
wagon, where they can be seen by the community but not overheard. (From
West Central German sycht, "sight.")

--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.