TapcisForum  

Go Back   Tapcis Web Forums > Open Forums > The Parlor

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1  
Old October 9th, 2018, 09:05 PM
Daniel Widdis
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default [Dixonary] Round 2929: Vote for PROSLAMBANOMENOS

Brought to you at great expense of wit and wisdom from our esteemed panel of players, here are a baker’s dozen alternative definitions of PROSLAMBANOMENOS, only one of which is true.Â*Â* Without looking it up, your task is to vote for two definitions.Â* If you are selfless, you’ll pick two authors to reward their creativity. If you’re selfish and want points for yourself, you might try to guess the real def.Â* Or perhaps you can split your votes between these two options.Â* And there’s always a random number generator.



The voting deadline is in 36 hours from now, at 6 am PDT on Thursday, October 11. That's 9 am EDT, 1 pm UTC, 2pm BST in the UK, 3pm CEST in the Netherlands, Midnight AEDT in Melbourne, and 2am NZDT on Friday in Wellington.Â* (But I’ll close early if all submitters have voted by about the 30 hour point!)



*** PROSLAMBANOMENOS ***



1. a fictional fricassee comprised of rotted dogfish head, wrasse, wood pigeon, and the roasted head of a dabchick, among other culinary morsels



2. the process of bringing an institution or organization up to date; modernization



3. [Geom.] a non-repeating tiling pattern in 3 or more dimensions



4. the lowest note of the scale in ancient Greek music



5. the vestibule of a Greek Orthodox church



6. having well-shaped buttocks



7. stubborn



8. a battering ram



9. the preference for saturated colors



10. [faux Greek] a meme directed at the US Senate



11. confirmed in religious faith (Greek Orthodox Church)



12. the promotion of health and hygiene by the washing of one's hands



13. those who attempt revolutionary change through coordinated, consistent, minor actions; literally "an attack of small steps"



--
You received this message because you are subscribed to the Google Groups "Dixonary" group.
To unsubscribe from this group and stop receiving emails from it, send an email to dixonary+unsubscribe (AT) googlegroups (DOT) com.
For more options, visit https://groups.google.com/d/optout.
Reply With Quote
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.